skip navigation

2015 America's Cup Champions - Team Idaho

Team Idaho all geared up to fend their America’s Cup Title

05/27/2016, 1:15pm PDT
By Pablo Di Maria

California and Michigan to contend

COEUR D’ALENE, Idaho- The 7th Annual America’s Cup tournament, which was hosted the past six years in the state of California, will take place this year at Post Falls High in Idaho. The tournament, which is sponsored by IDAWAY (Idaho Amateur Wrestling Association for the Youth), SCWAY (Southern California Wrestling Alliance for the Youth) and NUWAY (National United Wrestling Association for the Youth), will start on Saturday at 8 a.m. with matches in the high school level. A middle school division will have matches between 2 and 6 p.m. on both days.

Championship matches will be held on Sunday at noon in the high school division and 4 p.m. in the middle school division.

The first America’s Cup started in 2009 and was hosted by Cal State Fullerton in Southern California. The First Dual-Meet tournament was won by an All-Star team which was assembled with some of the best wrestlers from across the nation. From 2000-2014, Team California All-Stars won the event, however, the last two years Team Idaho has claimed the team championship.

The teams schedule to compete in the round-robin format tournament are California SCWAY, Idaho Black, Idaho Blue, Idaho north, Michigan All-Star and SW Oregon All-Star.

Where: Post Falls High

When: Memorial weekend

Divisions: HS and MS 

Tag(s): News